Home Faculty of Science at the University of Melbourne
Unit entry

Home | Browse | Search | Previous | Next

Department of Natural Philosophy (1882 - 1944)

Faculty of Science
Related EntriesOnline Resources
Function: Academic Department
Location: Melbourne, Victoria, Australia

Natural Philosophy was taught at the University of Melbourne from the 1860s, and became a department within the Faculty of Medicine in 1882 before transferring to the Faculty of Science in 1903. In 1945, on the recommendation of the British Institute of Physics, the name of the department was changed to the School of Physics.

Related Entries for Department of Natural Philosophy

Previous and Subsequent Entities

 1882 - 1944 Department of Natural Philosophy
       1945 - School of Physics


Head of Department

Professorial Chairs

Related Units

Top of Page
Online Resources

Structure based on ISAAR(CPF) - click here for an explanation of the fields.Prepared by: Carolyn Rasmussen & Rachel Tropea
Created: 8 October 2001
Modified: 28 March 2002

Published by Australian Science and Technology Heritage Centre on AustehcWeb, October 2001
Comments, questions, corrections and additions: http://www.esrc.unimelb.edu.au/about/inquiries.html#comment
Prepared by: Acknowledgements
Updated: 16 November 2009

[ Top of page | Faculty of Science at the University of Melbourne Home | Browse | Search ]