1 - Australasian Society for Immunology Incorporated

Date Rangec. December 1991 -
Related Provenance
ControlledSecretariat (1984 - ) [c. December 1991 - ]
PreviousAustralian Society for Immunology Incorporated (c. 1988 - c. 1991)
RelatedHonorary Secretary (c. 1970 - ) [c. December 1991 - ]

In late 1991, the Australian Society of Immunology Incorporated merged with the New Zealand Society for Immunology (founded in 1975) to form the Australasian Society for Immunology Incorporated (ASI Inc.).

The Society was formed to encourage and support the discipline of immunology in the Australasian region, embracing clinical and experimental, cellular and molecular immunology in humans and animals.

The activities of ASI Inc. have included holding meetings, lectures and symposia for immunologists and students of immunology, providing funding (travel bursaries) to allow students to attend events, publication of the journal Immunology and Cell Biology, publication of a newsletter for members, arranging for international speakers from the field to visit Australia and New Zealand, and a post-graduate teaching course.

ASI Inc. has also been a key organisation working with other societies in the region, as a founding member of the Federation of Immunological Societies of Asia-Oceania (FIMSA), and through affiliations with the Australasian Society for Medical Research (ASMR), the Australian Academy of Science (AAS), the Committee of Australian Biomedical Societies on Animal Experimentation (CABSAE), the International Union of Immunological Societies (IUIS), and the Australian Society of Clinical Immunology and Allergy (ASCIA).

Through its various activities and affiliations, ASI Inc. seeks to encourage the study of immunology in Australia and New Zealand and actively works to introduce young scientists to the discipline.

By 2009, ASI Inc. had over 700 members.


ASI Inc. is run by councillors elected by the members in each State, the Northern Territory, the ACT and New Zealand. Councillors are elected for a two year term. The Executive of the council is made up of the President, Honorary Secretary, Honorary Treasurer, Vice-President and Past-President. The Executive deals with the day-to-day running of the Society. The Secretariat keeps lists and accounts and provides secretarial services.

Office Bearers:
All Office Bearers must be nominated and seconded. The nominee must give affirmation of the nomination. All offices are appointed by election.

  • President - 1 year position as Vice President, then 2 years as President
  • Past President - 1 year after office as President
  • Vice President - See Above
  • Honorary Secretary - 3 year position, can be re-nominated
  • Honorary Treasurer - 3 year position, can be re-nominated
  • Councillors - 1 per State/Territory, and 1 from New Zealand


  • Secretariat - is Employed by the ASI
  • Honorary Members (Life Members)
  • Sustaining Members - commercial companies enlisted to help support the Society's aims
  • Members - Yearly Membership (Ordinary Membership, Student Membership, Associate Membership)
  • Honorary Archivist (from 1993)

ReferencesAustralasian Society for Immunology Incorporated online, "Aims, affiliations, activities, and history", Date accessed: 25 March 2009.
Series9  Papers of State Branches 1992? - 1997
12  Immunology and Cell Biology 1991 - 1999

Published by the The University of Melbourne eScholarship Research Centre on AustehcWeb, September 2009
ISBN 978-0-7340-4119-7
Listed by Gavan McCarthy, Harry Ward, Lisa Cianci, Helen Morgan, Michael Jones and Ann McCarthy
HTML edition
Updated 6 April 2011

The template for this finding aid is part of the Heritage Documentation Management System

[ Top of Page | Home | Series | Provenance | Search | Index ]