Home Faculty of Science at the University of Melbourne
Unit entry

Home | Browse | Search | Previous | Next

Faculty of Applied Science (1960 - 1969)

University of Melbourne
Related EntriesArchival/Heritage Resources
Location: Melbourne, Victoria, Australia

When established, the Faculty of Applied Science was the only new faculty since Commerce was established in 1924 at the University of Melbourne. Its disciplines included Dietetics, Electronics, Metallurgy, Optometry and a General Course in Science for first year students mainly in Mathematics, Physics and Chemistry. Financial restrictions precluded the establishement of chairs in the disciplines, in 1969 the faculty was disbanded. Courses in Electronics, Metallurgy and Applied Chemistry went to the Faculty of Engineering, and the courses of Optometry and Dietetics to the Faculty of Science.

Related Entries for Faculty of Applied Science

Academic Departments



Related Units

Top of Page

Structure based on ISAAR(CPF) - click here for an explanation of the fields.Prepared by: Carolyn Rasmussen & Rachel Tropea
Created: 12 September 2001
Modified: 1 April 2005

Published by Australian Science and Technology Heritage Centre on AustehcWeb, October 2001
Comments, questions, corrections and additions: http://www.esrc.unimelb.edu.au/about/inquiries.html#comment
Prepared by: Acknowledgements
Updated: 16 November 2009

[ Top of page | Faculty of Science at the University of Melbourne Home | Browse | Search ]