Page 91
Previous/Next Page
Federation and MeteorologyBureau of Meteorology
Table of Contents

Notes Prepared by John Hogan


I Join the Commonwealth Bureau of Meteorology

H. A. Hunt (1866–1946) — First Commonwealth Meteorologist

Inigo Jones (1872–1954)

Griffith Taylor, D.SC, B.E., B.A. (1880–1963)

Edward Kidson, O.B.E., D.Sc., F. Inst. P. (1882–1939)

My Recollections of Captain Edward Kidson (R.E) O.B.E, D.Sc., F. Inst. P. (1882–1939)

Macquarie Island

Willis Island


Contact us
I Join the Commonwealth Bureau of Meteorology (continued)

In addition to Hunt the following professional staff was selected from the State Observatories for the Central Office—R. F. Griffiths from Adelaide, E. T. Quayle of Melbourne, H. M. Jocelyn of Perth and E. Fowles from Brisbane. Clement Wragge, a former officer of the Brisbane Observatory and a man of considerable reputation among the public as a long-range forecaster, was an unsuccessful applicant for the position of Commonwealth Meteorologist—he did not join the new Commonwealth weather staff.

At the outset, staff in Central Office, Melbourne, numbered 26, while the total in the five State (Divisional) Offices was 23.

Functions of the Bureau in its early stages were :

  1. daily provision of weather information and of noon forecasts;
  2. processing of climatological observations made by country observers throughout Australia and the supply of notes and data derived from them.

The staff of Clerks Class V was distributed among the various rooms so that these two main functions could be best performed. I found myself in the South Australian room where observations from South Australia and the Northern Territory were dealt with.

People in Bright Sparcs - Hogan, John; Hunt, Henry Ambrose ; Joscelyne, Henry Maurice ; Quayle, Edwin Thomas; Wragge, Clement Lindley

Previous Page Bureau of Meteorology Next Page

Hogan, J. 1986 'Notes Prepared by John Hogan (1896-1970)', Metarch Papers, No. 2 March 1986, Bureau of Meteorology

© Online Edition Australian Science and Technology Heritage Centre and Bureau of Meteorology 2001
Published by Australian Science and Technology Heritage Centre, using the Web Academic Resource Publisher