Home Faculty of Science at the University of Melbourne
Unit entry

Home | Browse | Search | Previous | Next

Chair of Biology (1887 - 1919)

Go to Gallery Page Chair of Biology
Related EntriesPublished ResourcesGallery
Function: Professorial Chair
Location: Melbourne, Victoria, Australia

In 1887, Walter Baldwin Spencer was appointed Professor of Biology, thus establishing the Chair of Biology. Previously biology was encompassed in the original chair of Natural History under Professor McCoy. The Chair of Biology was renamed Zoology in 1920.

Related Entries for Chair of Biology

Previous and Subsequent Entities

 1854 - 1899 Office of the Professor of Natural Science
       1887 - 1919 Chair of Biology
             1906 - 1973 Chair of Botany and Plant Physiology
             1920 - Chair of Zoology
                   1974 - Chair of Botany (1974)


Top of Page

Structure based on ISAAR(CPF) - click here for an explanation of the fields.Prepared by: Carolyn Rasmussen & Rachel Tropea
Created: 17 September 2001
Modified: 21 November 2001

Published by Australian Science and Technology Heritage Centre on AustehcWeb, October 2001
Comments, questions, corrections and additions: http://www.esrc.unimelb.edu.au/about/inquiries.html#comment
Prepared by: Acknowledgements
Updated: 16 November 2009

[ Top of page | Faculty of Science at the University of Melbourne Home | Browse | Search ]