Page 523
Previous/Next Page
Technology in Australia 1788-1988Australian Academy of Technological Sciences and Engineering
Table of Contents

Chapter 7

I The First 100 Years 1788-1888

II Railways

III Motorised Vehicles

IV Aviation

V Modern Shipping

VI Innovative Small Craft

VII Conclusion

VIII Acknowledgements

IX Contributors



Contact us

I wish to acknowledge the major contribution made by the people listed below, each of whom undertook complete sections of Transport History and who gave generously of their advice and photographs in the preparation of this chapter.

The First 100 Years
Andrea Inglis BA(Hon)DipEd.

Ian B. Macfarlane BE CEng (Aust) MIE (Aust) FCIT FAIP Member of Council of Rail Track Association of Australia and Member of American Railway Bridge and Building Institute. Manager Railways, Australian Trade Commission.

Stanley S. Schaetzel BSc (Lond) DIC FTS Technical Director Hawker de Havilland.

Modern Shipping
Robert Campbell BSc Engineering Glasgow (Naval Architecture) FRINA, Past President and presently an honorary Vice President of the Australian Division (RINA), Member of the Society of Naval Architects and Marine Engineers, U.S.A. Former Manager of the Ship Technology Unit Sydney.

Alan R. Colquhoun ASTC, FRINA, CEng Naval Architect and marine salvage consultant.

I would also like to thank the following people for their valuable assistance in providing technical information and advice:

Lewis T. Bandt -Former Design Manager, Ford Motor Company of Australia Limited

William S. Sidebottom BSc -Curator of Engineering and Transport Museum of Victoria

Graham R. Taylor MRINA, AMSWAME, MIE(Aust) - Manager TNT Shipping and Development Limited.

Previous Page Australian Academy of Technological Sciences and Engineering Next Page

© 1988 Print Edition page 528, Online Edition 2000
Published by Australian Science and Technology Heritage Centre, using the Web Academic Resource Publisher