Page 813
Previous/Next Page
Technology in Australia 1788-1988Australian Academy of Technological Sciences and Engineering
Table of Contents

Chapter 11

I The Present Energy Economy

II Australian Energy Consumption

III Research And Development

IV Coal

V Oil And Natural Gas

VI Solar Energy

VII Nuclear Energy

VIII Bagasse Firewood And Other Biomass

IX Electric Power Generation And Distribution electric Power Generation And Distribution
i Types of generating stations
ii Transmission and distribution
iii System load control
iv Australian manufacturing in the power industry
v Queensland
vi New South Wales
vii Victoria
viii Tasmania
ix South Australia
x Western Australia
xi Northern Territory
xii Australian Capital Territory
xiii The Snowy Mountains Scheme

X Manufactured Gas

XI Industrial Process Heat



Contact us

Australian Capital Territory

The ACT area around Canberra was originally supplied by a diesel power station at Kingston; some 3 MW of generating plant is still retained for emergency standby. In the 1950s, supply was provided by the Electricity Commission of NSW at 66 kV from its substation at Queanbeyan, and subsequently from the 330/132 kV ECNSW sub-station on the western edge of ACT. When the Snowy Mountains Scheme began sending power to ECNSW in 1955, a share was notionally given to ACT, though in fact being passed via the ECNSW network.

The former departmental electricity body was superseded in 1963 by the ACT Electricity Authority under the 1962 ACT Electricity Supply Act. A feature of the agreement between ACTEA and ECNSW is that no demand charges are levied, and this is reflected in ACTEA's consumer tariffs. It is the only Australian supply authority not offering off-peak concessional tariffs.

Organisations in Australian Science at Work - A.C.T. Electricity Authority; Electricity Commission of New South Wales; Snowy Mountains Scheme

Previous Page Australian Academy of Technological Sciences and Engineering Next Page

© 1988 Print Edition page 835, Online Edition 2000
Published by Australian Science and Technology Heritage Centre, using the Web Academic Resource Publisher