Images for page 634
Previous/Next Page
Federation and MeteorologyBureau of Meteorology
Table of Contents

War History of the Australian Meteorological Service




Chapter 1: D.Met.S.—Australia's Wartime Weather Service
Establishment of D.Met.S. War Communication System
New Stations and Services
Censorship and Codes
RAAF Appointments
Organisational Conferences
Pacific Island Weather Stations
Services to the War Room
The Allied Air Meteorological Service
Training of US Personnel
Perth-Colombo Air-route
Wide Pacific Expansion
Closing Years of the War

Chapter 2: The Weather Factor in Warfare

Chapter 3: Met in the Retreat

Chapter 4: Met in the Advance

Chapter 5: Meteorology in Aviation

Chapter 6: Central Forecasting Services

Chapter 7: Met With the Army

Chapter 8: Research and Personnel Training

Chapter 9: Instrumental Development and Maintenance

Chapter 10: Scientific Developments in the RAAF Meteorological Service

Chapter 11: Divisional Bureaux and Their Work

Appendix 1: List of Reports Provided by D.Met.S. for Advances Operational Planning and Other Purposes

Appendix 2: List of Service Personnel RAAF Meteorological Service

Appendix 3: List of Civilian Personnel Who Worked Together with Service Personnel of the RAAF Meteorological Service

Appendix 4: List of Locations at which RAAF Meteorological Service Personnel Served


Contact us
International meteorological conference, Manila, 1945. From left to right, seated, are Commander F. T. Thompson (USN), Captain H. T. Orville (USN), Colonel D. N. Yates (US Army), Wing Commander M. F. Barnett (RNZAF), Commander S. W. O. Pack (RN), Group Captain W. H. Bigg (RAF), Squadron Leader W. A. Dwyer (RAAF), Group Captain H. N. Warren (RAAF) (Chairman), Colonel W. O. Senter (US Army), Captain P. R. Drouilhet (USN), Captain A. L. Danis (USN), Colonel W. A. Stone (US Army), Major A. F. Spilhaus (US Army) and Captain K. S. Van Dyke (US Army); standing include Lieutenant-Commander L. M. S. Hargrave (RAN), Major H. N. Caldwell (US Army), Wing Commander J. P. Lees (RAAF), Captain B. F. Smith (US Army), Major A. N. Gordon (US Army), Commander L. Govett (RN), Captain W. Troutman (US Army), CWO H. J. Cuskey (US Army), Major R. J. Shafer (US Army) and Captain F. A. Berry (USN)

  International meteorological conference, 1945

[Return to Text]

Previous Page Bureau of Meteorology Next Page

© Online Edition Australian Science and Technology Heritage Centre and Bureau of Meteorology 2001
Published by Australian Science and Technology Heritage Centre, using the Web Academic Resource Publisher