Page 1365
Previous/Next Page
Federation and MeteorologyBureau of Meteorology
Table of Contents

Weather News



Personal Notes
Mr. B. W. Newman, Deputy Director, Sydney
Mr. G. W. Mackey—Deputy Director, Perth
Mr. J. Johnston—Deputy Director, Hobart
Mr. A. J. Shields—Deputy Director, Brisbane
Mr. B. J. Retallack—Supervising Meteorologist, Training
Mr. J. Hogan—Deputy Director, Adelaide
Mr. F. Bell—Officer-in-Charge, Darwin
Mr. P. Ryan—Officer-in-Charge, Darwin
Bureau Profile #1
Dr. Kevin Spillane: The Quality of Tenacity
Taking the World View [John Zillman]
Fred Bell, the Pilot's Friend
Mildura's Harry Storer
Computers—New ADC [Ross Maine]
H. G. Bond
The Sky is the Limit [Bettye Macnicol / Jenny Hopwood]
Hobart Weather Birds [Judy Morris / Felicity James]
Professional Officers' Association Award to Henry [Phillpot]
New Assistant Director Facilities is Keith Henderson
Tasmania's New Regional Director [Ted Phillips]
New Head for ANMRC [Doug Gauntlett]
Tony Powell New Regional Director Victoria
Lynn Mitchell Takes Over the Reins in SA RO Fillerup!
Pat Sullivan New Regional Director, NSW
Bettye Dixon Heads Canberra Liaison Section
Dr Michael Manton Chief of BMRC
Graeme Furler, Regional Director South Australia
Ian Mason, Regional Director ACT
Regional Director Queensland [Rex Falls]
Don Linforth, STPM
Bob Brook, Asst Director (Observations)
Jim Arthur, Regional Director, Northern Territory
Neil Streten Appointed Deputy Director (Services)
Bill Downey, Assistant Director (Executive)
Antarctic Medal Winners
Agrometeorology's Leading Lady [Gloria Bedson]
Ken Wilson—Focus on the 'Big Picture'
Sue Barrell's 'Balancing Act'
Dr Geoff Love Appointed Deputy Director (Services)
Serendipity at 33,000ft: A Win for Metrology—Bruce Forgan's WMO Vaisala Award
Pressure's On for New NCC Head [Mary Voice]
Bob Leighton Wins AMOS Honor for Climate Studies



Observers and Volunteers




Contact us

Antarctic Medal Winners

No. 291 December 1989

Denise Allen

Denise Allen, Trainee Technical Officer (Meteorology), was presented with the 1989 Antarctic Medal by the Governor of Victoria, Dr Davis McCaughey at a ceremony at Government House, Melbourne, on 25 October. The medal was established in 1987 as a new award in the Australian Honours system, and is awarded in recognition of outstanding service with Australian Antarctic expeditions. Denise and fellow 1989 medal recipient Dr Lynn Williams are the first women to receive the prestigious award.

Denise commenced with the Bureau in 1982 as a Trainee Observer and was later posted to Queensland. During her stay in the north she relieved at a number of Field Stations in and around Brisbane, and spent six months at Willis Island.

Denise made her first voyage down south in November 1984 as an Acting Observer Grade 2, stationed at Macquarie Island. In December 1985, only six weeks after returning home, Denise packed her kit to spend January through to November 1986 as an Observer Grade 2 at Mawson, where she became the first woman from the Bureau of Meteorology to winter on the continent.

On her return from Mawson Denise worked as an Instructor in the Training Centre. December 1987 saw Denise set sail for Davis in the capacity of Acting Observer Grade 3, and the first woman Senior Observer at an Antarctic base (in fact, a first at any Bureau Field Station).

Apart from her official duties Denise has been involved in many facets of station life.

As part of the 1989 medical team she acted as an anaesthetic assistant during an emergency operation. She carried out a water sampling program in the Vestfold Hills lakes and supported station operations by making safe routes on the ice plateau, establishing fuel dumps for traverses and providing assistance to many scientific programs.

Denise is one of the pioneers for the involvement of women and Antarctica. She was the only female member of her winter expeditions at Mawson and Davis.

Previous Page Bureau of Meteorology Next Page

© Online Edition Australian Science and Technology Heritage Centre and Bureau of Meteorology 2001
Published by Australian Science and Technology Heritage Centre, using the Web Academic Resource Publisher