Page 1375
Previous/Next Page
Federation and MeteorologyBureau of Meteorology
Table of Contents

Weather News



Personal Notes
Mr. B. W. Newman, Deputy Director, Sydney
Mr. G. W. Mackey—Deputy Director, Perth
Mr. J. Johnston—Deputy Director, Hobart
Mr. A. J. Shields—Deputy Director, Brisbane
Mr. B. J. Retallack—Supervising Meteorologist, Training
Mr. J. Hogan—Deputy Director, Adelaide
Mr. F. Bell—Officer-in-Charge, Darwin
Mr. P. Ryan—Officer-in-Charge, Darwin
Bureau Profile #1
Dr. Kevin Spillane: The Quality of Tenacity
Taking the World View [John Zillman]
Fred Bell, the Pilot's Friend
Mildura's Harry Storer
Computers—New ADC [Ross Maine]
H. G. Bond
The Sky is the Limit [Bettye Macnicol / Jenny Hopwood]
Hobart Weather Birds [Judy Morris / Felicity James]
Professional Officers' Association Award to Henry [Phillpot]
New Assistant Director Facilities is Keith Henderson
Tasmania's New Regional Director [Ted Phillips]
New Head for ANMRC [Doug Gauntlett]
Tony Powell New Regional Director Victoria
Lynn Mitchell Takes Over the Reins in SA RO Fillerup!
Pat Sullivan New Regional Director, NSW
Bettye Dixon Heads Canberra Liaison Section
Dr Michael Manton Chief of BMRC
Graeme Furler, Regional Director South Australia
Ian Mason, Regional Director ACT
Regional Director Queensland [Rex Falls]
Don Linforth, STPM
Bob Brook, Asst Director (Observations)
Jim Arthur, Regional Director, Northern Territory
Neil Streten Appointed Deputy Director (Services)
Bill Downey, Assistant Director (Executive)
Antarctic Medal Winners
Agrometeorology's Leading Lady [Gloria Bedson]
Ken Wilson—Focus on the 'Big Picture'
Sue Barrell's 'Balancing Act'
Dr Geoff Love Appointed Deputy Director (Services)
Serendipity at 33,000ft: A Win for Metrology—Bruce Forgan's WMO Vaisala Award
Pressure's On for New NCC Head [Mary Voice]
Bob Leighton Wins AMOS Honor for Climate Studies



Observers and Volunteers




Contact us

Serendipity at 33,000ft: A Win for Metrology—Bruce Forgan's WMO Vaisala Award

No. 317 December 1997

Dr Bruce Forgan has won the World Meteorological Organization's 1997 Professor Dr Vilho Vaisala Award for a technique that improves global solar radiation measurements.

Bruce is in the Atmosphere Watch section of the Bureau's Observations and Engineering Branch and is responsible for national solar and terrestrial monitoring and basic laboratory services. He received the Vaisala diploma and medal from Professor G. O. P. Obasi, Secretary-General of the World Meteorological Organization (WMO), at a Head Office ceremony on 12 November hosted by the Parliamentary Secretary for the Bureau of Meteorology, Senator Ian Macdonald. The president and CEO of Vaisala, Mr Pekka Ketonen, was present.

Senator Macdonald offered Bruce warmest congratulations for a job very well done.

Professor Obasi cited Bruce's significant contributions to many WMO Programmes: 'The outstanding work carried out by Dr Forgan is of great importance to many operational and research applications. His new method not only enables continuous calibrations of field instruments, but has demonstrated that the accuracy of operationally applied radiation instruments can be increased at a significantly reduced cost.'

Mr Ketonen praised Bruce—and said that there was still a lot of improvement needed for international calibration.

The award, which includes a $5000 prize, recognises Dr Forgan's paper A New Method For Calibrating Reference and Field Pyranometers, published last year in the American Meteorological Society's Journal of Atmospheric and Oceanic Technology.

The paper describes a powerful technique combining a simple set of measurements and a mathematical algorithm to accurately calibrate pyranometers which measure solar radiation. The technique halves the uncertainty in routine global solar radiation measurements.

Dr Forgan, born in Mt Gambier, has a PhD from Flinders University of SA. Since joining the Bureau in 1980 he has worked in the Bureau's Research Centre and as Officer In Charge (1984–88) of the Baseline Air Pollution Station at Cape Grim in northwest Tasmania.

People in Bright Sparcs - Forgan, Bruce

Previous Page Bureau of Meteorology Next Page

© Online Edition Australian Science and Technology Heritage Centre and Bureau of Meteorology 2001
Published by Australian Science and Technology Heritage Centre, using the Web Academic Resource Publisher